Merge ALL Holdings for a Library

Overview

 

Only Regional DOCLINE Coordinators can transfer ALL holdings from one library to another.

 

The Serial Holdings Merge screen appears when a Regional DOCLINE Coordinator clicks on the Merge/Delete menu option under the Serial Holdings Menu. The Merge tab is the default tab. The drop down lists display all libraries for which the user has update rights. The user can select which library to transfer the holdings from and which library to transfer those holdings to. ALL holdings will transfer from one library to another. There are three duplicate handling options:

 

 

Definitions of the duplicate handling options are listed below. For this process, a duplicate is defined as holdings that are attached to the same bibliographic record for both selected libraries.

 

 

Duplicate Handling Options

Option

Definition

Display duplicates and choose which record to DELETE

This is the default option. For each duplicate, the Title, NLM Unique ID, and Holdings for both libraries are displayed. The user must select which record to delete and then click DELETE AND MERGE. The extraneous duplicates will be deleted; all other holdings will be transferred from the one library to the other library. For more information on this function, see Serial Holdings Merge Duplicate Display Help.

Delete all duplicates now owned by the FROM library

Delete all duplicate holdings held by the library FROM which the holdings are being transferred.

Delete all duplicates now owned by the TO library

Delete all duplicate holdings held by the library TO which the holdings are being transferred.

 

 

Buttons

Button

Button Definition

Reset

Removes all user input.

Merge Holdings

Continues the Merge Holdings process based upon the selected Duplicate Handling option. If Display duplicates and choose which record to DELETE is selected, a duplicate display selection window appears. See below for more information on this option.

 

If either of the other options are selected, the holdings will be merged and the appropriate duplicates will be deleted. A message will display telling the user how many holdings each library has and how many duplicate holdings records were deleted.

Help

Retrieves this Help Window.