National Library of Medicine Literature Selection Technical Review Committee (LSTRC) June 10-11, 2020 Minutes of Meeting

The ninetieth meeting of the Literature Selection Technical Review Committee (LSTRC) (roster under ATTACHMENT A) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) convened virtually at 10:00 AM, June 10, 2020. Dr. Karen Young, Chairman of the Committee, presided. In accordance with P.L. 92-463 and the determination of the Director, National Institutes of Health (NIH), the meeting was announced in the <u>Federal Register</u>. In accordance with the provisions set forth in Section 552b(c)(9)(B), Title 5, U.S.C., Pub. L. 92-463, the meeting was closed to the public for the review and discussion of journals as potential titles to be indexed by the NLM. No portion of the meeting was open to the public.

For the Record¹

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Dr. Pamela Bagley Dr. Luisa DiPietro Dr. Kristen Greenland Dr. Melissa Haendel Dr. Scott LeMaire Dr. Alan Louie Dr. Elijah Paintsil Dr. Kelly Sandberg Dr. Marina Sokolsky-Papkov Dr. Bill Yates Dr. Karen Young Dr. Dingbo Lin

CONSULTANTS PRESENT

Dr. Thu Annelise Nguyen Ms. Diane Cooper

OBSERVERS PRESENT

Dr. Henry Young Dr. Sharon Greenblum Dr. Ndidiamaka Amutah-Onukagha Dr. Angela Arenas Dr. Armand Antommaria

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT

Dr. Nancy Lowe

NLM STAFF PRESENT

Ms. Kristina Elliott Dr. Lauren Topper Ms. Rebecca Black Ms. Allie McDougall Mr. Michael Labuda Ms. Sharon Han Ms. Jennifer Marill Ms. Beth Weston Ms. Julie Silverman Ms. Dianne Babski Mr. Ali Shaker Ms. Kate Majewski Mr. Philip Banh

¹ It is noted that members absent themselves from the meeting when the Committee is discussing journal titles in which a conflict of interest might occur.

I. Call to Order

Dr. Karen Young called the meeting to order at 10:00AM, Wednesday, June 10, 2020, and welcomed members, consultants, observers, and NLM staff.

II. Administrative Matters

A. Welcome and Announcements:

Dr. Lauren Topper, Head of Unit 1 in the Collection Development and Acquisitions Section (CDAS), announced the addition of Ms. Rebecca Black and Ms. Kristina Elliott as Publisher Liaisons in CDAS.

Dr. Karen Young announced the appointment of Dr. Scott LeMaire as the new Chairman of the Committee, beginning with the Fall 2020 meeting.

Ms. Dianne Babski thanked Dr. Karen Young, Dr. Kristen Greenland, and Dr. Bill Yates for their service on the LSTRC, as their terms ended after the June 2020 meeting.

Dr. Lauren Topper and Ms. Dianne Babski welcomed the new members whose terms begin in the Fall of 2020 and who attended the June 2020 meeting as observers.

- B. Consideration of the minutes from the February 2020 meeting: The minutes were approved as written.
- C. Conflict of Interest Forms: Conflict of Interest forms were distributed to LSTRC members prior to the meeting, and were completed before members participated.
- D. Dates of future meetings:
 - Fall 2020: October 22-23, 2020 (Confirmed)
 - Winter 2021: February 25-26, 2021 (Confirmed)
 - Spring 2021: June 24-25, 2021 (Confirmed)
 - Fall 2021: October 28-29, 2021 (Confirmed)

III. Examination and Review of Titles

A total of 70 titles were reviewed at the meeting. The review of titles began on Wednesday, June 10, 2020, at 10:55 AM. Titles continued to be reviewed until 3:00 PM Wednesday. Reviews began again at 10:00 AM on Thursday, June 11, 2020 and concluded at 3:00 PM. The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 PM.

IV. Certification

I hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes and attachments are accurate and complete.

Dianne Babski Scientific Review Administrator Karen Young Chairman