Skip Navigation Bar

Participants in 2011-2012 NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program Announced

Fellows and Mentors Will Constitute Program's Tenth Class


The fellows and mentors selected for the tenth class of the leadership program jointly sponsored by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL) have been announced. NLM is the world's largest medical library and a component of the National Institutes of Health.

The NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program is focused on preparing emerging leaders for director positions in academic health sciences libraries. Selection is recognition of a substantial record of accomplishment and demonstrable potential. The program provides a combination of in-person and virtual learning experiences for fellows and offers the opportunity to work collaboratively with the class of participants. Fellows are paired with mentors who are academic health sciences library directors and will visit the libraries of their mentors.

Information about the program is available at:




Martha F. Earl

Assistant Director

Preston Medical Library

University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville

Mentor: Connie Poole

Associate Dean for Information Resources and

Chair, Information and Communication Sciences

School of Medicine Library

Southern Illinois University


Shannon D. Jones (2002-2003 NLM Associate Fellow)

Associate Director, Research and Education

Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences

Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries

Mentor: R. Kenny Marone

Director, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library

Associate University Librarian for School and Department Libraries

Yale University


Jennifer McKinnell

Head of Public Services

Health Sciences Library

McMaster University

Mentor: Cynthia Robinson

Director, George T. Harrell Health Sciences Library

Hershey Medical Center

Penn State College of Medicine


Douglas L. Varner

Senior Associate Director/Chief Biomedical Informationist

Dahlgren Memorial Library

Georgetown University Medical Center

Mentor: Evelyn B. Morgen

Director, Lyman Maynard Stowe Library

University of Connecticut Health Center


Jeffrey D. Williams

Assistant Director, Collections, Access & Clinical Services

Biomedical Library

University of California, San Diego

Mentor: A. James Bothmer

Associate Vice President for Health Sciences and

Director, Health Sciences Library

Creighton University