Skip Navigation Bar

Participants in Leadership Fellows Program Announced

The fellows and mentors selected for the 2008-2009 class of the leadership program jointly sponsored by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL) have been announced.

The NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program is focused on preparing emerging leaders for director positions in academic health sciences libraries. Selection as a fellow is recognition of a substantial record of accomplishment and demonstrable potential. The program provides a combination of in-person and virtual learning experiences for fellows and offers the opportunity to work collaboratively with the class of participants. Fellows are paired with mentors who are academic health sciences library directors and will visit the libraries of their mentors.

Information about the program is available at

2008-2009 NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program

Laura K. Cousineau
Assistant Director for Program Development and Resource Integration, Library
Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Medical University of South Carolina

Mentor: Gail Yokote
Associate University Librarian for Sciences and Technology
University of California, Davis


Melissa L. Just
Director, Graff Medical & Scientific Library
City of Hope
Duarte, CA

Mentor: Cristina A. Pope
Director, Health Sciences Library
SUNY Upstate Medical University

Roderick (Rod) MacNeil Deputy University Librarian
Scott Memorial Library
Thomas Jefferson University

Mentor: Terrance (Terry) M. Burton
Director, Health Sciences Library
Ebling Library
University of Wisconsin – Madison

Sandra I. Martin
Interim Director
Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University

Mentor: Gary Freiburger
Director, Arizona Health Sciences Library
University of Arizona

Nancy Hrinya Tannery
Associate Director for User Services
Health Sciences Library System
University of Pittsburgh

Mentor: James (Jim) Shedlock
Director, Galter Health Sciences Library
Northwestern University