Skip Navigation Bar

Participants in Leadership Fellows Program Announced


The fellows and mentors in the inaugural class of the leadership program jointly sponsored by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL) have been announced.


The NLM/ AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program, offered in cooperation with the Association of Research Libraries Office of Leadership and Management Services, is focused on preparing emerging leaders for academic health sciences libraries. The program provides a combination of in-person and online learning opportunities for fellows. Fellows are paired with mentors who are academic health sciences library directors and will visit the libraries of their mentors.


Information about the program is available at


2002-2003 NLM/ AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program Participants


Judy Consales

Interim Director

Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library, University of California, Los Angeles

Mentor: Carol G. Jenkins

Director, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Charles J. Greenberg

Head Reference Librarian

Cushing/ Whitney Medical Library, Yale University

Mentor: J. Michael Homan

Director of Libraries, Mayo Clinic and Mayo Foundation


Patricia C. Higginbottom

Assistant Director for Information and Instructional Services

Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Mentor: Judith Messerle

Countway Librarian, Francis A. Countway Library of Medicine


Gerald J. Perry

Head of Information Services

Arizona Health Sciences Library, University of Arizona

Mentor: Nancy K. Roderer

Director, William H. Welch Medical Library, Johns Hopkins University


Linda J. Walton

Associate Director

Galter Health Sciences Library, Northwestern University

Mentor: Wayne J. Peay

Director, Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, University of Utah