Skip Navigation Bar

Unified Medical Language System® (UMLS®)

Home Health Care Classification of Nursing Diagnoses and Interventions Source Information

Web site

Home Health Care Classification (HHCC) System, now known as the Clinical Care Classification (CCC) System, was developed by Virginia Saba and colleagues at the Georgetown University School of Nursing.

HHHC provides a standardized framework and a unique coding structure for assessing, documenting, and classifying patient care by nurses and other clinical practitioners.

HHHC is composed of two sets of interrelated terminologies – Nursing Diagnoses and Nursing Interventions. These terminologies are classified using a coded framework consisting of 21 Care Components, which are modeled around the six steps of the Nursing Process Standards of Care. The six steps are Diagnosis, Outcome Identification, Planning, Implementation, Evaluation, and Assessment.

Metathesaurus Scope
HHCC Version 1.0 is included in the Metathesaurus.

HHHC is used by nurses, nurse practitioners, administrators, educators, and researchers.

Update Frequency
Now known as CCC, the classification is updated irregularly; it was last updated in 2004.

Metathesaurus Update Frequency
HHHC was last updated in the Metathesaurus in 2004.

Sites Consulted

  1. Sabacare: Introduction [Internet]. Washington (DC): Sabacare; c2004-2009 [cited 2010 Jan 14]. Available from: