Skip navigation
Timeline / Defining Rights and Responsibilities / 1915: The Alaska Native Sisterhood is established

1915: The Alaska Native Sisterhood is established

Following the formation of the Alaska Native Brotherhood in 1912, Alaska Native women meet in the Tlingit village of Haines, Alaska, to organize the Alaska Native Sisterhood. Most of the members are graduates of the Sheldon Jackson Junior College. They immediately begin advocating throughout the territory for Alaska Native land claims, for citizenship and racial justice. They also encourage Alaska Natives to learn English. Their work takes them to the territorial legislature and the U.S. Congress.

Native Rights
Arctic, Northwest Coast, Subarctic

Alaska Native Sisterhood and Alaska Native Brotherhood Convention, Haines, Alaska, 1929

Courtesy Alaska State Library, Alaska Native Organizations Photograph Collections