Skip Navigation Bar
National Library of Medicine Technical BulletinNational Library of Medicine Technical Bulletin

Table of Contents: 2021 SEPTEMBER–OCTOBER No. 442

Previous Next


NCBI Virtual Workshop: Using NCBI's Primer-BLAST to design and analyze PCR primers

NCBI Virtual Workshop: Using NCBI's Primer-BLAST to design and analyze PCR primers. NLM Tech Bull. 2021 Sep-Oct;(442):b11.

2021 October 05 [posted]

On Thursday, November 9, 2021, join the staff of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) for a virtual workshop on Primer-BLAST, NCBI's software tool that designs target-specific primers for polymerase chain reaction (PCR).

Biological researchers often design specific PCR primers to amplify a single genomic or mRNA template, or a set of closely related templates. In addition, PCR amplification with specially designed primers is sometimes used to identify an organism or group of organisms based on targeted RNA or genomic DNA amplification of an isolate. NCBI's Primer-BLAST combines the primer design features of the popular Primer3 package with a specificity check that uses nucleotide BLAST to search for target and non-target matches in a background database. Primer-BLAST primers are suitable for use in all PCR-based molecular biology protocols, including target identification and verification, cloning, variant analysis, and gene expression.

In this workshop, you will learn to:

  • Design primers specific for mRNA (cDNA) templates that will not cross amplify genomic DNA.
  • Design primers for specific genomic templates such as an exon of a gene.
  • Identify potential products for a pair of primers.
  • Interpret primer alignments on intended and off-target matches to pick the best primers.
  • Choose the best background BLAST database to check primer specificity or identify targets.
  • Display Primer-BLAST results in the context of the template or genome using graphical displays.

This workshop is intended for biological and biomedical researchers and educators including junior/senior undergraduate and graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, research assistants/associates, professors, and librarians who help with research and/or teach BLAST. Each workshop will accept a limited number of participants to facilitate the best possible educational experience. Applicants will be informed of their status at least two weeks before the event.

Date and Time: Thursday, November 9, 2021, 10:00am - 11:30am PT / 11:00am - 12:30pm MT / 12:00pm - 1:30pm CT / 1:00pm - 2:30pm ET

Apply here: https://nlmenterprise.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_8H2gWoMR4Q1EFng

NCBI is accepting applications until October 15th. Those accepted will be notified by October 26, 2021.

Find more workshops and more information on the new Outreach Events page of the NCBI Insights Blog.

NLM Technical Bulletin National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health