Skip Navigation Bar
National Library of Medicine Technical BulletinNational Library of Medicine Technical Bulletin

Table of Contents: 2021 NOVEMBER–DECEMBER No. 443

Previous Next


NCBI Virtual Workshop: Getting Started with NCBI Data in Python

NCBI Virtual Workshop: Getting Started with NCBI Data in Python. NLM Tech Bull. 2021 Nov-Dec;(443):b7.

2021 November 16 [posted]

On Tuesday, December 14, 2021, join the staff of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) for a virtual workshop on using Python to work with NCBI data.

Learn how to tackle bigger biomolecular datasets more reliably with the power of Python programming. This workshop is designed for biologists without programming experience. Our examples will use genomic, transcript, and protein sequence data, but the programming skills will be broadly relevant for all biologists.

In this workshop you will learn how to:

  • Use Python programming to download, analyze, and visualize data.
  • Use Jupyter to create data analysis lab notebooks that make it easy to reproduce & share your work.
  • Find data that is relevant to your project using the new NCBI Datasets resource. Explore metadata to learn about which datasets are available.
  • Download sequence data with NCBI Datasets and manipulate it with the BioPython package.

This workshop is designed for people with a good understanding of molecular biology, but who have limited or no scripting experience.

Due to curricular and technical limits, we’ve capped the number of spots to provide the best workshop experience. If you register to apply, you will be notified of your application status approximately 2 weeks before the scheduled event.

Date and time: Tuesday, December 14, 2021, 10:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. PT / 11:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. MT / 12:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. CT / 1:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. ET

Apply here: https://nlmenterprise.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_0DjnITkj5Wv57YG

NCBI is accepting applications until November 21st.

Find more workshops and more information on the new Outreach Events page of the NCBI Insights Blog.

NLM Technical Bulletin National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health