Skip Navigation Bar
National Library of Medicine Technical BulletinNational Library of Medicine Technical Bulletin

Table of Contents: 2021 NOVEMBER–DECEMBER No. 443

Previous Next


NCBI Virtual Workshop: Introduction to PubMed, PubMed Central, and My NCBI for Researchers

NCBI Virtual Workshop: Introduction to PubMed, PubMed Central, and My NCBI for Researchers. NLM Tech Bull. 2021 Nov-Dec;(443):b6.

2021 November 09 [posted]

On Thursday, December 16, 2021, join the staff of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in a virtual workshop for researchers on PubMed and related resources.

PubMed has over 33 million citations in the areas of biomedicine, health, and related scientific fields. PubMed Central has over 7.3 million full-text, biomedical and life sciences articles. However, the volume of citations in each database and the subtle differences between the databases can make it difficult for new searchers to find relevant citations or full-text articles when needed. This workshop is designed to teach the new PubMed user how to search PubMed and PubMed Central effectively to find citations relevant to their research goals for success on their next research paper. This workshop will also include an introduction to My NCBI, NCBI's tool for researchers, and instruction on how to use My NCBI to organize your findings from PubMed and PubMed Central.

In this workshop you will learn how to:

  • Search PubMed and PubMed Central to find articles on biomedical topics
  • Use basic database structure to design effective search queries
  • Create a My NCBI account
  • Save queries and set up weekly or monthly email alerts on search results
  • Organize results using My NCBI collections
  • Export citations from PubMed for use by citation managers, such as Endnote or Zotero

No expertise is required, as this workshop is designed for beginner database searchers and novice users of My NCBI.

Experienced PubMed users and library and information specialists should refer to the PubMed Online Training page for training and teaching resources.

Due to curricular and technical limits, we've capped the number of spots to provide the best workshop experience. If you register to apply, you will be notified of your application status approximately 2 weeks before the scheduled event.

Date and Time: Thursday, December 16, 2021, 10:00 AM-11:30 AM PT / 11:00 AM-12:30 PM MT / 12:00 PM-1:30 PM CT / 1:00 PM-2:30 PM ET

Apply here: https://nlmenterprise.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bOxdchAUIOSha1o

NCBI is accepting applications until November 21st.

Find more workshops and more information on the new Outreach Events page of the NCBI Insights Blog.

NLM Technical Bulletin National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health