Skip Navigation Bar
NLM logo

Board of Regents

The NLM Board of Regents was established in 1956 by the same Act that created the National Library of Medicine. It serves as the advisory body to the Secretary, HHS; Assistant Secretary for Health; Director, NIH; and the Director, NLM, on all important aspects of policy regarding the Library and is the final review body for NLM's extramural grant program. The Board meets three times a year in February, May and September.

Membership Roster | Member Profiles
2018 Charter
signed version (PDF) | 2018 Charter accessible version (HTML) 

Future Meeting Dates

  • May 12-13, 2020
  • September 15-16, 2020
  • February 9-10, 2021
  • May 11-12, 2021
  • September 14-15, 2021
  • February 8-9, 2022

Board of Regents Minutes and Videocasts

Board of Regents Public Service Working Group on Modernization

Past Working Groups and Planning Panels

Group photograph of the Board of Regents members

Standing from left to right: RADM Erica Schwartz, Dr. Carolyn Clancy, Dr. Dale Smith, Dr. Mary Mazanec, Mr. Neil Rambo, Dr. Alessandro Acquisti, Col. Thomas Cantilina, Col. Kent DeZee, Capt. Matthew Lim. Seated from left to right: Dr. Suzanne Bakken, Dr. Brent Miller, Dr. Jill Taylor, Dr. Patricia Flatley Brennan (Director, NLM), Ms. Jane Blumenthal (Chair), Mr. Paul Wester, Dr. Eric Horvitz

Last Reviewed: May 29, 2020