Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you�ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NLM's University-based Biomedical Informatics and Data Science Research Training Programs

The National Library of Medicine supports research training in biomedical informatics and data science at eighteen educational institutions in the United States. NLM’s T15 program offers graduate education and postdoctoral training and research experiences in a wide range of areas including health care informatics, translational bioinformatics, clinical informatics, public health informatics, and consumer health informatics. Trainees will receive exposure to a core curriculum focused on biomedical data science concepts and methods as well as develop skills needed to lead independent future research. Some T15 programs offer an additional area of training in HIV/AIDS. Please contact T15 awarded institutions for questions related to trainee selection, eligibility, program specifics, and levels of support. The location of NLM T15 training institutions and contact information for awardees is provided in the interactive map below.

Each NLM research training program makes special efforts to recruit individuals from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups, individuals with disabilities, women, and those from economically, socially, culturally, or educationally disadvantaged backgrounds. Those interested in receiving predoctoral or postdoctoral training are encouraged to directly reach out to T15 program contacts at each institution as identified in the interactive map.

For general information about NLM's University-based Biomedical Informatics and Data Science Research Training Programs, please contact: Lyn Hardy, PhD,

Future Conference:    NLM Informatics Training Conference 2023: at Stanford University, Stanford, California

NLM's University-based Biomedical Informatics and Data Science Research Training Programs

Information can be found by clicking on each site’s geographical location. Site numbers correspond to the list of T15 Awarded Sites located under the map.

current training grantee institutions University of California San Diego (San Diego, CA)
Stanford University (Stanford, CA)
University of Colorado Denver/HSC Aurora (Aurora, CO)
Yale University (New Haven, CT)
Indiana University/Regenstrief Institute (Indianapolis, IN)
Harvard University (Medical School) (Boston, MA)
Columbia University Health Sciences (New York, NY)
State University of New York at Buffalo (Buffalo, NY)
Oregon Health & Science University (Portland, OR)
University of Pittsburgh at Pittsburgh (Pittsburgh, PA)
Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN)
Rice University (Houston, TX)
University of Utah (Salt Lake City, UT)
University of Washington (Seattle, WA)
University of Wisconsin Madison (Madison, WI)
Medical University of South Carolina
Johns Hopkins University
University of California Los Angeles

T15 Awarded Sites (Principal Investigator)

1.  Columbia University (Noemie Elhadad)
2.  Harvard University (Nils Gehlenborg)
3.  Indiana University – Reigenstrief Institute (Brian Dixon)
4.  Johns Hopkins University (Christopher Chute)
5.  Medical University of South Carolina (Alexander Alekseyenko)
6.  Oregon Health Sciences University (William Hersh)
7.  Rice University (Lydia Kavraki)
8.  Stanford University (Sylvia Plevritis)
9.  State University of New York at Buffalo (Peter Elkin)
10. University of California Los Angeles (Bogdan Pasaniuc)
11. University of California San Diego (Lucila Ohno-Machado)
12. University of Colorado (Lawrence Hunter)
13. University of Pittsburgh (Harry Hochheiser)
14. University of Utah (Karen Eilbeck)
15. University of Washington (Peter Tarczy-Hornoch)
16. University of Wisconsin (Mark Craven)
17. Vanderbilt University (Jessica Ancker)
18. Yale University (Cynthia Brandt)

Last Reviewed: January 31, 2024