UTS Logo

Unified Medical Language System (UMLS)

NOC (Nursing Outcomes Classification) - Synopsis

The Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) (3rd edition) was developed and is maintained by the University of Iowa College of Nursing.

NOC provides a standardized classification system of patient outcomes for evaluating the effects of nursing interventions.

NOC outcomes are grouped hierarchically into 31 classes within seven domains. The seven domains are:

  1. Functional Health
  2. Physiologic Health
  3. Psychosocial Health
  4. Health Knowledge and Behavior
  5. Perceived Health
  6. Family Health
  7. Community Health

Outcomes include definitions, lists of indicators for evaluating patient status in relation to the outcome, references for background reading, and a five-point Likert scale to measure patient status.

NOC is used by health care agencies, nursing education programs, and researchers.

Update Frequency
NOC is updated regularly.

Metathesaurus Update Frequency
NOC was last updated in the Metathesaurus in 2007.

Sites Consulted

  1. Overview of NOC [Internet]. Iowa City (IA): The University of Iowa; [cited 2010 Feb 17]. Available from: http://www.nursing.uiowa.edu/excellence/nursing_knowledge/clinical_effectiveness/nocoverview.htm