UTS Logo

Unified Medical Language System (UMLS)

DSM-5 (DSM-5) - Synopsis

Web site:

The American Psychiatric Assocation produces the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5).

DSM-5 is used to diagnose as well as classify mental disorders. It allows for an objective assessment of symptoms in a range of clinical settings.

DSM-5 has three parts: diagnostic classification, diagnostic criteria sets and descriptive text.

Sites Consulted

  1. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5) [Internet]. Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Assocation. About DSM-5 and Development; [cited 2017 May 08]. Available from: https://www.psychiatry.org/psychiatrists/practice/dsm/about-dsm