NLM logo

NIC (Nursing Interventions Classification) - Synopsis

Search NIC in the UMLS Metathesaurus
(requires a free UMLS license)

The Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) was developed and is maintained by the University of Iowa College of Nursing.

NIC provides a standardized classification system for treatments performed by nurses.

NIC interventions are grouped hierarchically into 30 classes within seven domains. The seven domains are:

  1. Behavioral
  2. Community
  3. Family
  4. Health System
  5. Physiological: Basic
  6. Physiological: Complex
  7. Safety

Domains, classes, and interventions include definitions. Interventions also include sets of activities to carry out the interventions and references for background reading.

NIC is used by health care agencies, nursing education programs, and researchers.

Update Frequency
NIC is updated irregularly.

Metathesaurus Update Frequency
NIC was last updated in the Metathesaurus in 2018AB.

Sites Consulted

  1. CNC Fact Sheet [Internet]. Iowa City (IA): The University of Iowa; [cited 2023 Nov 20]. Available from: