NLM logo

PPAC (Pharmacy Practice Activity Classification) - Synopsis

Search PPAC in the UMLS Metathesaurus
(requires a free UMLS license)

Web site

The Pharmacy Practice Activity Classification (PPAC) was developed by the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

PPAC is used to categorize pharmaceutical care activities.

PPAC organizes pharmacists’ activities into 14 classes within four domains. The four domains are Dispensing Medications and Devices, Ensuring Appropriate Therapy and Outcomes, Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, and Health Systems Management.

PPAC is used by practitioners, researchers, and educators in the field of pharmaceutical care.

Metathesaurus Update Frequency
PPAC was last updated in the Metathesaurus in 1999.