NLM logo

CCC (Clinical Care Classification) - Synopsis

Search CCC in the UMLS Metathesaurus
(requires a free UMLS license)

Web site

Dr. Virginia Saba and colleagues at the Georgetown University School of Nursing developed the Home Health Care Classification (HHCC) System, now known as the Clinical Care Classification (CCC) System, version 2.5. The CCC is hosted by HCA Healthcare.

CCC provides a standardized framework and a unique coding structure for assessing, documenting, and classifying patient care by nurses and other clinical practitioners.

CCC is composed of two sets of interrelated terminologies Nursing Diagnoses and Nursing Interventions. These terminologies are classified using a coded framework consisting of 21 Care Components, which are modeled around the six steps of the Nursing Process Standards of Care. The six steps are Diagnosis, Outcome Identification, Planning, Implementation, Evaluation, and Assessment.

Nurses, nurse practitioners, administrators, educators, and researchers use CCC.

Metathesaurus Update Frequency
CCC is updated in the Metathesaurus as resources permit.

Sites Consulted

  1. Clinical Care Classification System: About [Internet]. Nashville, TN: HCA Healthcare; [updated 2021 Sept 30; cited 2022 Oct 3]. Available from: