NLM logo

HCPCS (HCPCS - Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System) - Synopsis

Search HCPCS in the UMLS Metathesaurus
(requires a free UMLS license)

Web site:

The Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) is produced by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

HCPCS is a collection of standardized codes that represent medical procedures, supplies, products and services. The codes are used to facilitate the processing of health insurance claims by Medicare and other insurers.

HCPCS is divided into two subsystems, Level I and Level II.

Level I is comprised of Current Procedural Terminology® codes (HCPT). HCPT codes consist of five numeric digits. For more information about HCPT, see the HCPT source synopsis.

Level II HCPCS codes identify products, supplies, and services not included in CPT. Level II codes consist of a letter followed by four numeric digits. Current Dental Terminology codes are included in the Level II codes as HCDT. For more information about HCDT, see the HCDT source synopsis.

HCPCS is used by physicians and other health care professionals and insurance programs.

Update Frequency
HCPCS is updated annually.

Metathesaurus Update Frequency
HCPCS is updated annually in the Metathesaurus.

Sites Consulted

  1. Medicare [Internet]. Baltimore (MD): Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services; [cited 2012 Oct 4]. HCPCS - General Information; [modified 2012 July 04; cited 2012 Oct 4]. Available from: